About Us Advisory for e-Visa Applicants

Advisory for e-Visa Applicants

There have been instances of fraudulent e-Visa websites claiming to provide e-Visa / e-Tourist visa to foreigners who want to travel to India.  Applicants are cautioned not to deal with the fake websites which claim to be genuine government websites. The following websites claiming to provide e-Tourist Visa services to visa applicants desiring to travel to India are fake and do not belong to Government of India:
1. e-touristvisaindia.com
2. indianvisaonline.org.in
3. e-visaindia.com

e-Visa applicants are advised to directly visit our e-Visa website as follows: 
It may also be noted that e-Visa involves online application for which no facilitation is required by any intermediary / agent etc.  For any clarification or doubt about e-tourist visa, applicants may write to indiatvoa@gov.in

e-Visa is a four-step process involving
(i) Application online,
(ii) Payment of Processing Fee online,
(iii) Receive Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) at your email ID and
(iv) Fly to India with Passport and ETA. 

Obtaining ETA through above procedure is mandatory for e-Visa. Without ETA, the airline would not allow boarding.

There are three categories of visas that can be availed under e-Visa
(i) e-Tourist visa,
 (ii) e-Business visa and
 (iii) e-Medical visa. 

Duration of each stay in India has been increased from 30 days to 60 days and Single Entry visa has been changed to Double Entry e-Tourist visa and e-Business visa. 

A triple entry e-Medical Visa has been introduced with possible extension up to 6 months. 

A Vietnamese/foreigner will also be permitted to club e-Tourist visa, e-Business visa and e-Medical Visa.

e-Visa is non-extendable except in case of e-Medical visa which can be extended up to six months depending upon the merit of the case. 

e-Visa will be non-convertible to any other types of visa except in following cases:

  1. To ‘X’ (Entry) visa if a foreigner marries an Indian national during the validity of his/her e-Tourist visa.
  2. To medical visa if a foreigner falls ill after his / her entry into India
  3. To ‘X’ (Entry) visa in the case of a Person of Indian Origin who is otherwise entitled for ‘X’ (Entry) visa.

E-tourist visa will also be provided at 5 major Indian ports, Mumbai, Cochin, Goa, Chennai and Mangalore to help tourists coming on cruise ships.

e-Visa applicants are not required to visit the Consulate.